The name "Consulate" comes from the time when the hotel was home to the Royal Swedish Consulate to Risør, and this suite is truly special.
This is a historic house built in 1863 as the warden's house for Risør Church (anno 1647), and then the house was used for many years as the telephone exchange. When the exchange was closed in the early 1980s, the house was completely restored by the hotel's owners.
From the entrance you enter a cosy cellar, with fireplace and seating, and the house's original wine cellar. Up on the 2nd floor there is a very comfortable living room, and dining room with room for 20 guests - perfect for a party with friends or family.
From the living room you reach a large sunny terrace overlooking a beautiful garden with heated swimming pool.
There is a well-equipped kitchen with kitchen table, and on the other side of the hallway there is "The Consuls Bedroom" with library and open fireplace in the corner.
There are in addition three bedrooms on the 3rd floor, two double rooms and single room.
The garden has several seating and a dining tables for 20 guests, we have a serving kitchen here and it is possible to be served meals from here by arrangement.
The suite is in use all year round but the swimming pool is open from May to September.
Many guests also rent the "Guesthouse Suite" which is also located by the garden.
Buvikveien 26, locally called "the Vatican", is a listed house built in the 1700s as a holiday house to one of Risør's wealthiest businessmen.
The building was painstakingly restored by the hotel and today houses four fine suites with exquisitely charming décor and all modern amenities.
Here you can really dream of living as a Risør native during the age of sail!
Buvika is 900m away from reception, a lovely walk and there are good bikes included. There is private parking at the house.
Guests can have breakfast delivered to the suite.
Built in 1864 after a great fire destroyed much of the town, for many years there was a hotel/guest house on the 2nd and 3rd floors, first run by Søstrene Gislesen, and then Henny Paulsen.
Famed shipowner I.M. Skaugen also had his first shipping office here.
The whole block was completely restored by the hotel and today there is a reception and breakfast room on the 1st floor and two great suites on the floors above.
Tucked away in a charming and quiet courtyard in the heart of Risør's historic centre, there are eight of our suites.
All suites have a maritime theme, with from two to five beds. In addition, the Sagafjord suite has room for 16 around the dining table – perfect for a party or meeting.
Most buildings are from 1864, originally two residential buildings with horse stables and haylofts. Plus the Convoy Suite, which is Risør's first electricity transformer built in 1900.
The restoration work here has been awarded serveral national prizes.